## Additional Protocol Between The Union Of Soviet Socialist Republics And Finland Concerning Compensation For Loss And Damage And For The Works To Be Carried Out By Finland In Connexion With The Implementation Of The Agreement Of 29 April 1959 Between The Government Of The Union Of Soviet Socialist Republics, The Government Finland And The Government Of Norway, Concerning The Regulation Of Lake Inari By Means Of The Kaitakoski Hydro-Electric Power Station And Dam

The Government of the Soviet Union and the Government of Finland having signed this day the Agreement concerning the regulation of Lake Inani by means of the Kaitakoski hydroelectric power station and dam,' have agreed as follows

## Article I

In consideration of such loss and damage as have been or may be caused to the lands, waters, structures or other property of any kind belonging to the State, communes and private persons and bodies of Finland as a result of the regulation of Lake Inari under the Agreement of 24 April 1947 and the Agreement concluded this day, and as payment for the works which have been and are to be carried out by the Finnish Ministry under the Regulations referred to in article 2 of the said Agreements, the Government of the Soviet Union has paid to the Government of Finland a lump sum of seventy-five million (75,000,000) Finnish markkaa.

The Government of the Soviet Union is consequently exonerated of all responsibility to the State, communes, individuals and corporate bodies of Finland for the loss and damage referred to in the first paragraph of this article and for the works which have been and are to be carried out by the Finnish Ministry under the Regulations referred to in article 2 of the said Agreements. The Finnish Ministry assumes all such responsibility to the said authorities persons and bodies.

## Article 2

This Additional Protocol shall enter into force on the date of its signature,

DONE at Moscow on 29 April 1959 in two copies, each in the Russian and Finnish languages, both texts being equally authentic.

For the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

D. G. KOTILEVSKY

For the Government of Finland

Soini PALASTO