Protocol on Inserting Amendments and Addenda in the Agreement Between the Governments of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and the Republic of Uzbekistan on the Use of Water and Energy Resources of the Syr Darya Basin, of 17 March 1998

To establish a more fruitful cooperation of the Republic of Tajikistan and the countries participation in the Agreement on Creation of a single Economic Zone addressed to water and energy issues, and proceeding from the request of 19 June 1998 made by the Government of Tajikistan, the Council of Prime Ministers of the Central Asian Exomonic Community (CAEC) agreed to insert the following amendments and addenda in the Agreement Between the Governments of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, and the republic of Uzbekistan on the use of Water and Energy Resources of the Syr Darya Basin, of 17 March 1998.

The words ... [the Government] of the Republic of Tajikistan ... shall be inserted after the words ... the Kyrgyz Republic ... in the title and the first paragraph of the preamble.

Article 4 shall be supplemented with the paragraph:

The Republic of Tajikistan shall provide the Kairakkum reservoir annual operation according to the regime agreed by the Parties, and the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Republic of Uzbekistan shall supply equal portions of electric power to the Republic of Tajikistan in the period of the reservoir water storage, the agreed equivalent electricity amount shall be subsequently supplied back during summer time.

Article 11 shall be worded as follows:

This Agreement shall be in force from the date of its signature by the Parties.

Performed <u>in</u>, in one original copy in Russian. The original copy remains in the office of the Executive Committee of the Interstate Council of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan and Republic of Uzbekistan, which will submit certified copies to each participating country.

For the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan

For the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic

For the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan

For the Government of the Republic of Uzbekistan

[All four countries signed the document on 7 May 1999, (the translator's note)]